James Oswald
(1710 - 1769)

Oswald : Airs for the seasons - Myrtle : illustration

Airs for the seasons - Myrtle
Score, part(s) and cover page (PDF), €2.50 for bundled copies   Buy this item

If you have any problem obtaining a PDF, please see our help page. If that does not resolve the issue, please click here.

Click on the illustration to display a larger version
Page 1 of 4
For licensing/copyright information please click here
Mezzo voce Moderato - Allegro - Minuetto Vivace

James Oswald wrote two sets of Airs for the Seasons, each set comprising twelve pieces for each season; a total of ninety-six miniatures, each representing a plant at its most distinctive period in the year. The original pieces survive as figured keyboard solos (also available) playable as violin/flute sonatas. Oswald later provided second violin/flute parts for the first set of Airs, which can be performed with or without the second part.

The pieces for Summer are: Bachelor's Button, Columbine, Corn flag*, Flos Adonis, Foxglove, Honeysuckle, Heather Bells, Heliotrope, Hollyhock, Larkspur, Lily, Magnolia*, Melianthus, Myrtle*, Oleander, Pink, Poppy, Rose, Sweet William, Syringa, Thistle*, Turk's cap, Veronica, Virgin's Bower. All are suitable for violin(s), or (except where marked *) for flute(s).