James Oswald
(1710 - 1769)

Oswald : Airs for the seasons - Virgin's bower (Kbd) : illustration

Airs for the seasons - Virgin's bower (Kbd)
Full score (PDF), €1.00 for a single copy   Buy this item
Printable cover page (PDF), €0.00 for unlimited copies   Download this item

If you have any problem obtaining a PDF, please see our help page. If that does not resolve the issue, please click here.

Click on the illustration to display a larger version
Page 1 of 3
For licensing/copyright information please click here
Brilliante Allegro - Adagio - Giga Vivace

James Oswald wrote two sets of Airs for the Seasons, each set comprising twelve pieces for each season; a total of ninety-six miniatures, each representing a plant at its most distinctive period in the year. The original pieces survive as figured keyboard solos playable as violin/flute sonatas (also available).

The pieces for Summer are: Bachelor's Button, Columbine, Corn flag, Flos Adonis, Foxglove, Honeysuckle, Heather Bells, Heliotrope, Hollyhock, Larkspur, Lily, Magnolia, Melianthus, Myrtle, Oleander, Pink, Poppy, Rose, Sweet William, Syringa, Thistle, Turk's cap, Veronica, Virgin's Bower.