Thomas Norris
(1741 - 1790)

Norris : Symphony no. 1 in D major : illustration

Symphony no. 1 in D major
Score, part(s) and cover page (PDF), €6.50 for bundled copies   Buy this item

Please click here to report any problem obtaining a PDF

Click on the illustration to display a larger version
Page 1 of 27
For licensing/copyright information please click here
Allegro - Andante moderato - Vivace

Six Symphonies for two violins, two hautboys, two french horns a tenor and a bass, Compos'd and dedicated by permission to the Right Honble the Earl of Sandwich by T. Norris Bac Mus, Organist of St John's College Oxford. Opera 1mo. London. Printed for the author and sold by Mr Welcker in Gerrard Street, St Ann's Soho, Mr Randal in Catherine Street in the Strand, and at Mr Matthews in High Street, Oxford. c. 1772.

Norris's symphonies seem to have been played at public social events. His subscription list includes, for example, Vauxhall Gardens and he also supplied six sets to Thomas Linley (his best customer), for use in various Bath rooms.

The current edition includes parts for horns in the symphony's key, and alternative parts for horns in F.