William Corbett
(1675 - 1748)

Corbett : Set in D major, Op. 3 no. 7 : illustration

Set in D major, Op. 3 no. 7
Score, part(s) and cover page (PDF), €8.50 for bundled copies   Buy this item

Please click here to report any problem obtaining a PDF

Click on the illustration to display a larger version
Page 1 of 27
For licensing/copyright information please click here
Overture - 2. Aire vivace - 3. Gavotta - 4. Sarabanda - 5. Menuet - 6. Air Escossois lentement - 7. Aire vivace - 8. Marche - 9. Menuet

Published as an addendum to Roger's edition of the sonatas, Op. 3, Amsterdam, c.1710.

A continental version of "A new set of tunes for the theatre", London, 1708 . That set is also available in a discrete edition by notAmos. The pieces herein are rescheduled and retitled for a continental market. Importantly, this version includes parts for two trumpets or oboes. These generally double the violins, but have independent and complementary material in the Overture. This appears to be another example of a theatre set where the English edition (Harmonia Anglicana) survives with the wind parts detached and mislaid.