John Addison

Sonata in D major, Op. 1 no. 1
Score, part(s) and cover page (PDF), €1.00 for bundled copies   Buy this item

If you have any problem obtaining a PDF, please see our help page. If that does not resolve the issue, please click here.
Page 1 of 5
For licensing/copyright information please click here
Largo - Canone Allegro moderato - Largo - Allegro

"Six sonatas or duets for two violins or two German flutes, compos'd by John Addison. Opera prima". Eng. James Johnson, Edinburgh. 1772.

The composer has not been identified with certitude, but this opus has an Edinburgh engraver, a member of the Scottish peerage (Lord Linton) as dedicatee, and a set of members of Edinburgh society (including Thomas Erskine, Earl of Kelly) on the subscription list. It is probable that the not infrequent attribution to London-born John Addison (c.1766 - 1844) is incorrect.