Jacob Herschel
(1734 - 1792)

Sonata in F major
Score, part(s) and cover page (PDF), €4.00 for bundled copies   Buy this item

Please click here to report any problem obtaining a PDF
Page 1 of 7
For licensing/copyright information please click here
Andante - Adagio - Tempo di Minuetto

"Six Sonates à Deux Violons & la Basse composées et tres humblement dediées à Sa Majesté Charlotte Reine de Grande Bretagne par Jacob Herschel. Musicien de la Chambre de sa Majesté Britannique à Hannovre. London. Printed for the Author and sold by R. Bremner, facing Somerset House in the Strand." 1769. The figured bass for an optional keyboard part is not included in this edition, which is presented as a string trio.

(Heinrich Anton) Jacob Herschel was the elder brother and mentor who during the Seven Years War removed to England from Hanover with (Friedrich) William. William became domiciled in England, and eventually, with siblings Caroline (Lucrecia), and (Johann) Alexander settled in Bath. Jacob became a court musician in Hanover (as did further sibling (Johann) Dietrich) and ultimately died there in mysterious circumstances. The frontispiece of these "sonatas" is ambiguous (as are those of other of his works) as to whether Jacob received his patronage and position from Charlotte in her rôle as Queen Consort of Great Britain or as Electress Consort of Hanover.